Team:

Hydrome – Squirtle Lv. 10: Bubble, Tackle, Leer

Ziro – Pikachu Lv. 10: Thundershock, Growl, Thunder wave

Sora – Pidgey Lv. 10: Gust, Sand Attack

Faye – Nidoran (F) Lv. 11: Scratch, Tackle, Growl

My first real victory. I’ve beaten him a million times before but in the context of this challenge it still feels rewarding. Surprisingly enough Pidgey was the real MVP since Onix managed to kill Squirtle with a Bide after I missed with Bubble. Took him down from half heath with the aid of a hefty amount of Sand Attacks. 

Now things open up a little more for team options. Clefairy, Paras, Geodude, Jigglypuff, Zubat, and not long after Sandshrew. Any thoughts on which ones I should use and why? I plan on catching one of each anyway.

The funny thing about these old games is that sometimes the enemy makes some really suprisingly dastardly moves and some really lame ones. Those of you who don’t know, old school Pokémon didn’t have an AI for enemy Pokémon. They’d just randomly use one of their available attacks which is sometimes hilarious. So Lt. Surge might throw electric attacks at your Ground Pokémon the whole battle (not that he has any normal type damage attacks on his Raichu).

What are some of the dumbest A.I. Moves you’ve seen in Red and Blue? Koga used Self Destruct on my Haunter once…